The Bliss team

The Editorial Board of Bliss consists of the following members:

Maryse Helbert, Thea Hilhorst, Linda Johnson, Mansoob Murshed, Lee Pegler, and Mahardhika Sjamsoeoed Sadjad.

Former members of the Editorial Board are Sylvia Bergh, Rod Mena Fluhmann, Matthias Rieger, and C. Sathyamala.

Lize Swartz


Lize Swartz is PhD researcher at the ISS focusing on the effects of adaptive responses to the collapse of socio-hydrological systems on resilience and power dynamics. She has a general interest in interactions with environmental change and how to enable deeper transformations to just and sustainable futures. She holds a BA in International Studies (cum laude) and BPhil in Journalism from Stellenbosch University and an MSc in Sustainability Science and Policy from Maastricht University. Besides her PhD and work as editor-in-chief of Bliss, she is a freelance writer and editor.




Blog Manager

Josephine Valeske holds a MA degree in Development Studies from the ISS and a BA in Philosophy and Economics from the University of Bayreuth. Her reseach interests lie in the areas of aid, corporate accountability, as well as social and economic justice. Apart from managing the ISS Blog, she works as a research assistant at the ISS and as a freelance writer and editor.